Mary, Warrior Queen

I was browsing the interwebs and I stumbled upon this gem of all gems.

Crushing the head of the serpent

With this description underneath:

“I used to have this up on my wall in college. In my head I always thought of her as the Second Eve, but that wasn’t her real title. I don’t remember the artist’s name, and I can’t find this picture anywhere online now. But I was rummaging through my old things looking for stuff to put up in my library cubicle & there she was, still as kick-ass as ever”

So Mary is my kick-ass, warrior Queen. I realize it’s a pretty non-traditional image of Mary but I love a good devil-slicing-armor-wearing-battle-worthy-still-peaceful-Mary.

And here are some more incredible images of the Queen of Heaven and Earth, Theotokos, Cause of my Joy, Mom, Mary.

These Marian images reminded me that I need to re-consecrate myself to the Blessed Mother. When I went through St. Louis de Montfort’s consecration the first time, I realized I only did it because all my friends were doing it. Any 3rd grader can tell you that is not a good reason to do things.

So this time it’s going to be just me and Mary (And the Holy Trinity…and the Communion of Saints…and probably Fr. Holdren…)

Also just crushing some heads

When you wikipedia “consecration” you can choose from two pages. The one about the Roman Catholic Church and our usage of consecration and a 1995 heavy metal album by the band Painstake.

This made me think about how serious is it to consecrate yourself to anything. I’m not implying that every heavy metal band has consecrated themselves to something sinister, but those who have are complelely transformed.

How much more transformed can we be when we consecrate ourselves to the Queen?

“They will have the two-edged sword of the word of God in their mouths and the blood-stained standard of the Cross on their shoulders. The simplicity and self-sacrifice of Jesus will be reflected in their whole behaviour.”

One thought on “Mary, Warrior Queen

  1. Actually I should have comment edon this blog post concerning the image of Mary (multi-colored). We are members of SOLT and we first consecrated through True Devotion in 1998. My son John (16) really likes your Warrior Mary.

    My wife Jen sends her regards and she will be checking the archives this Lent.

    Pax et bonum!

Leave a comment