In Memory of my Grandma, Joan

I didn’t plan on writing about anything too personal on this blog, but, my grandma recently and unexpectedly passed away this week and I write about it because I would love to ask for your prayers, and because she read every post on this blog.

She was (arguably) our biggest fan. After every post she would send me a short email about which post she read and how much she enjoyed it. She would put in a small message of encouragement, a heads up about whatever weather I was going to experience, and always sign it the same way, “Love, G. Marmie”. 

G for Grandma, of course.

I was thinking about being sad and crying and mourning and all those things and then, of all things, Pinterest supplied me some relief. I came across this pin which, besides being aesthetically pleasing, is a beautiful reminder that Christ took on the fullness of humanity. Even the ugly and messy emotions we all experience.

Image

 

I like to think that when we experience death in our lives that Christ cries with us. Death was never part of the original plan of creation. He gladly welcomes His children back home to Him forever, but He knows that we on Earth experience the pain of separation. But it allows us to stop and remember to be grateful for all the time we had, all the time we have with those who are still on earth, and a chance to look ahead with hope for our own Eternal life. 

Thank you for all your prayers and kind words!

Eternal Rest grant unto her, O Lord, and may perpetual Light shine upon her. May the souls of the faithfully departed, through the Mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen.

Image

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecclesiastes 3:11

4 thoughts on “In Memory of my Grandma, Joan

  1. What a beautiful memorial for Grandma Joan! She sure was proud of all of you kids.OUr thoughts and prayers are with all of Marmies especially this weekend.Safe travels. Aunt Joann.

  2. My mom and your G. Marmie were buddies for years…in fact, my parents are your dad’s godparents! Either I didn’t know that or I somehow forgot that over the years but was reminded when you’re uncles came in to make arrangements (I work at Reed-Egan). But my parents have ALWAYS had your family Christmas card photo on their refrigerator:) Anyhow, I was so shocked and saddened to hear of her passing this week, but talk about a life well lived! Such a sweet, caring, funny lady! She called me a few months ago asking about my parents and she was so sad for them as they were nearing the need for permanent nursing home care. I will miss seeing her at her grandkid’s school events and her constant smile with an always warm greeting of “Hey, Lil!” Great post on your blog…you’ve just got yourself another fan!

Leave a Reply

