Out of the mouths of babes

We are super blessed in Lincoln to have the Holy Spirit Adoration Sisters, also known as the Pink Sisters because:

1. Gosh, they are super stinkin’ cute

pink_sisters_community

2. They are praying for us constantly and we can’t even imagine the amount of graces we are receiving because of their prayers

And finally,

3. For some reason, kids come to that chapel completely uninhibited by normal Church-going-standards and just do whatever they want and it is beautiful. And it makes me remember how often I complicate prayer and how I over pack and over plan holy hours and just in general over-complicate every aspect of my life.

A couple of weeks ago I went to the Pink Sister chapel and was getting my rosary on, when a mom came in with her two kids. I’m going to make a confession, now that we are all so close, I sighed internally in frustration because these kids looked ornery and because I’m a terrible person.

Jesus heard my sigh and then proceeded to rock my world.

The mom knelt down, silently encouraged her sons to do the same (with her mom eyes, so scary) and then the younger of the two, folded his hands and whispered, “Hey Jesus, I love you,”

He repeated that prayer a dozen times and I realized that his prayer was just about a million times better, more authentic, more loving, and more true than mine. Man, nothing like a 5-year-old to shatter your pride and bring you back to earth. Praise God.

So I finished my rosary and didn’t take out any books or anything, I took a lesson for that little babe of a man and just told Jesus that I loved Him, and that felt like real prayer. A real experience of me and my Creator, expressing love in the simplest of terms. So, needless to say (but I’m going to say it anyway) it was pretty great.

This weekend I went to the Pinks again, around the same time, and wouldn’t you know, a mom brought in her two beautiful daughters. The youngest one decided she wanted a pew to herself, picked up some pamphlet I’m fairly certain she couldn’t read and then just smiled at the monstrance.

The worst/best part was that she could sit still and gaze at Jesus for longer than I can.

How often do I go into a holy hour, or just a quick visit, and fill my time with reading, writing, thinking, obsessing, analyzing etc? Of course, some of these excellent tools for prayer, but I neglect the use of silence and being still.

Be still, and know that I am God, Psalm 46:10

So I’m going to be childlike in prayer, more silence, simple phrases, just gazing upon my Beloved, and allowing Him to carry me in His arms.

And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven, Matthew 18:3

HAPPY ALMOST HOLY WEEK!

Caitlin

One thought on “Out of the mouths of babes

  1. Loved this post! Nothing like the “innocent” to put us “all knowing” in our place is there:>) When I have these “same thoughts” in Church I always remind myself, that we are a Church who supports life! That each and every one of those children are a blessing because they did not end up on an abortion table. That kind of puts me in “my place” again! Great post and thanks for sharing it! God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

