War on the War on Christmas

After reading Marc BadCatholic’s post about St. Nicholas punching heretics in the face (please please read here), I decided to take some time for face punching.

I want to talk about the war on “The War on Christmas”. Everyone knew it was coming, and atheists and cranky-pants alike have prepared to rebuke the “Keep Christ in Christmas” catchphrase.

Well, surprise!

Weren’t ready for that, were you? Hooray for monotheistic holidays!

But for this post, I want to address this internet gem:

OH! You best believe they are, and I will be the Queen of them!

Here’s the deal. You can’t ignore etymology.

Christmas: late O.E. Cristes mæsse, from Christ (but retaining the original vowel sound) + mass (2). (Source)

Holiday: 1500s, earlier haliday (c.1200), from O.E. haligdæg “holy day; Sabbath,” from halig “holy” (see holy) + dæg “day” (see day); in 14c. meaning both “religious festival” and “day of recreation,” (Source)

So say “Happy Holidays” to appease the cranky pants and then smile because you know the root of it.

I just don’t understand why it’s cool to occupy streets but it’s not okay to raise the awareness of the real purpose of a holiday.

It’s like celebrating Martin Luther King Jr. day but saying, “Yeah, he was fine but I want to change it to Eddie Murphy day and celebrate his success in films, and if any MLK Jr. supporters tell me to acknowledge the purpose of this holiday, I’m going to make snarky memes about them!”

And while this would be terrible because Eddie Murphy is awful and MLK Jr. is heroic, taking Christ out of Christmas is worse because, let’s face it, Christ is the Son of God, the Savior of us all, the REASON for the SEASON.

So I will continue to say “Merry Christmas” and “Happy Advent” and “Happy Holy-days” and punch heretics if I have to, because I love Christ and His birthday.

Caitlin

3 thoughts on “War on the War on Christmas

  1. “I just don’t understand why it’s cool to occupy streets but it’s not okay to raise the awareness of the real purpose of a holiday.” – haha nice. but we know who’s really cool 🙂

  2. I don’t have trouble with those who want to celebrate a different holiday instead of Christmas. Hanukkah? Great! Kwanzaa? Bodhi Day? Fantastic! Solstice? Bring on the bonfire! But when I celebrate those holidays with my friends, I celebrate *those holidays* and not something different or dumbed-down. So why is it OK that my family (and the rest of the world) wants me to edit the religious bit out of Christmas? Sigh. I’m sending them all presents for New Year.

Leave a Reply

