And with your spirit

I hate change. When Netflix was going to split into two seperate websites, I was up in arms. When UNL changes the Myred site, I break out into a cold sweat. If I have to change my clothes more than once a day, I panic.

But you know what change I do love? I hope you said the New Translation, because I love the New Translation.

I love it, love it, love it. I want to call it up, ask it out, and then marry it.

However, there are a lot of people who apparently do not feel the same way. I understand, change is scary. I remember my Grandma talking about the first Mass she went to after Vatican II, she said she was alarmed at how much she understood (you know, since it was now in English). She said it took her awhile to get used to, but she grew into it. She said it challenged her to get settled into her faith in a new way.

That’s what people are scared of. People are afraid of having to reevaluate their faith life, people are uncomfortable with having to pay attention during Mass and following along, people are scared to actually be Catholic.

Now you can’t hide behind “we believe”, you have to take responsibility for what you actually believe. No more demanding mercy, you are going to humbly beg for mercy you do not deserve. You aren’t just unworthy to receive Him, you are unworthy for Him to even enter in under your roof. The WEDDING supper of the LAMB? Literal tears every time.

I firmly believe that people aren’t upset about losing the translation they were comfortable with, they are afraid of losing the faith they grew comfortable with.

The world promises you comfort, but you were not made for comfort. You were made for greatness! Pope Benedict XVI

This translation is a challenge to pay attention, follow along, understand more deeply, and become on fire with the faith.

So because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of My mouth. Revelations 3:16

But, the most important change that happens in Mass will remain the same. The changing of bread and wine into the Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Jesus Christ.

To live is to change, and to be perfect is to have changed often — Blessed John Henry Cardinal Newman.

So, cowboy up and take it like a Catholic.

Leave a Reply

